New Champion Trophy

Champion Victorian Brewery 

In 2021, a new trophy will be awarded to the Champion Victorian Brewery. To be eligible for a Champion Victorian Brewery Trophy, the brewery must be located in Victoria and must be the licensee brewer and Exhibitor of the awarded beers. The award will be judged on the brewery’s top four (4) scoring beers, at least one of which must be a Gold Medal-winning Exhibit.

Introduction of Best Non-Alcohol Beer

In 2021, a new trophy will be awarded to the Best Non-Alcohol beer. As an important and growing sector in the brewing industry it has been recognised as a valuable new class to be introduced to the AIBA.

New and Revised Classes

Split of 'Best IPA' Trophy into 'Best Traditional IPA' and 'Best Modern IPA'

Due to increasing entry numbers within the Best IPA category in recent years, for 2021 this trophy has been split in two separate trophies with the following classes:

Best Traditional IPA:

10A British-Style IPA
10B American Style IPA
10C Imperial/Double IPA
10D Black IPA

Best Modern IPA:

11A Hazy IPA
11B New World IPA
11C New England IPA
11D Session IPA

Introduction of Best Specialty Flavoured Beer

Due to an increase in entries, the 2021 AIBA sees the split of the Best Specialty Beer trophy into two trophies, Best Specialty Beer and Best Specialty Flavoured Beer. The classes for the two trophies are:

Best Specialty Beer:

20A Smoked
20B Gluten Free
20C Scotch Ale
20D Barley Wine
20E Other Specialty

Best Specialty Flavoured Beer:

21A Honey
21B Chocolate
21C Herb & Spice

Combination of trophies from niche categories

In order to provide fairer recognition across the competition and reflect current trends in production, in 2021 a number of trophies with low entry numbers have been combined.
The ‘Best British-Style Ale’ and ‘Best European-Style Ale’ trophies have been combined into ‘Best British or European-Style Ale’ and 'Best Porter' and 'Best Stout' into ‘Best Porter or Stout’.
The ‘Best Scotch Ale or Barley Wine’ trophy has been removed with the Scotch Ale and Barley Wine classes now progressing to the ‘Best Specialty Beer’ trophy.