2023 Melbourne Royal Distinguished Service & Achievement Awards

The prestigious Melbourne Royal Distinguished Service & Achievement Awards for 2023 were celebrated on the inaugural day of the 2023 Melbourne Royal Show. The accolades were presented during the esteemed President's Lunch, held at the MasterChef Pavilion on Thursday, September 21.

This auspicious occasion marked the recognition of outstanding dedication and service within the Melbourne Royal community, celebrating the values Melbourne Royal stands for.

Honorary Life Members

Eligibility criteria: Members of Melbourne Royal who have been financial members for an extended period of time and have also made a valuable contribution to Melbourne Royal.

Nominations included:

Rosemary Garoni

Michael Hopkins

Megg Millar OAM

Neil Penny


All Speed the Plough Nominations

Eligibility criteria: May be awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to benefit the Society. Long time exhibitors, operators, committee members, stewards, staff or Board members are eligible.

Nominations included:

Max Morris

Peter Harper

Marilyn Warren

Michelle Mantas

John Ellis

Ann Ellis

David Bolton

Merrilyn Laws

Leanne Compton

Frank Trimboli


Emerging Leaders Medal

Ashlea Cross

Olivia Cross


Beef Cattle Legends

Daryl Holder


Garryowen Hall of Fame – Rider

Maree Tomkin


Garryowen Hall of Fame – Exceptional Service

Moya Jess


Garryowen Hall of Fame – Horse

Don Quixote