Committee and Advisory Group update

The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV) has a number of Competition Committees and Industry Advisory Groups that provide support and expert advice across the Royal Melbourne Show competitions and RASV’s award programs.

The members of these committees and industry advisory groups are appointed by the RASV Board and are specialists in their field. They provide insights into the latest industry trends and advice on how to refine and advance the competitions and events.

RASV is pleased to welcome Dean Matthews and Elizabeth Porter as new members of the Horses in Action Committee.

Dean Matthews

Dean has over 39 years of Show horse experience both competing at Royal Shows across Australia and as a breeder of quality show horses. Dean is a sought-after judge in Australia and New Zealand, with judging appointments at multiple Royal Shows, Barastoc, HOTY and numerous agricultural shows.

For the past 12 years, Dean has also been involved with organising the Riding Pony Foal Show and has assisted a light harness exhibitor around the show circuit. Dean has demonstrated his commitment to the Horses in Action Committee through his continued stewarding roles at the Royal Melbourne Show.

Elizabeth Porter

Elizabeth brings a deep understanding of equine event management. Elizabeth has formally worked as the Event Manager for the Melbourne Summer Royal and Royal Melbourne Show Horses in Action competition from 1997 - 1999. She was also the Event Director for the 2013 Equestrian Victoria Dressage Festival, Committee member of Barastoc (2015 - 2017). Since 1998,

Elizabeth has been a member of the Equestrian Victoria Show Horse Committee, Royal Geelong Show, Geelong Eventing Association, and a planning member of Equitana.
Along with her extensive event management experience, Elizabeth has also commentated, judged, or stewarded at Royal and national level for more than 20 years, bringing insight from an event manager, official, and competitor’s perspective.

The RASV wish Dean and Elizabeth well in their new role.

Further information regarding the current RASV Committee and Advisory Group members is available on the website.