Major Awards

The Australian Food Awards sees the presentation of champion trophies to the best product in each category and culminates in the presentation of Champion Australian Food Product.

Champion Australian Food Product

Awarded to the product or produce deemed the best product across the AFA categories. Each of the category champions will be tasted and ranked by a new judging panel using the Borda Method to determine which product receives the coveted award. 

Category Champion Trophies

The Category Champion Trophies will be awarded to the highest ranked product from a taste-off by the judging panels. 

Each of the Best in Class-winning products will be eligible for a trophy. 

Champion Australian Small, Medium & Large Producer 

To be eligible for these trophies, the producer must be the licensed owner of the product/ produce. The award will be judged on the producer’s top four scoring exhibits, where at least one must be a gold medal-winning exhibit. 

Champion Organic Food Product 

Only products that have been identified at the time of entry as certified organic with a certificate of authenticity will be eligible for this trophy. Only organic entries that have achieved Best in Class will be eligible.