Is the judging criteria the same across the categories?

Each class has judging criteria against which the exhibits are assessed. The criteria vary across the different categories but they focus on the sensory and the technical aspects of the product and its appearance (eg. taste, flavour, aroma, texture). Details can be found in the Entry Booklet. 

Can a brand owner enter on behalf of a producer?

A brand owner or retailer may enter an exhibit but ONLY if the producer of the contracted product is listed. Trophy status will recognise the producer of the exhibit on behalf of the retailer or brand owner.

Does the product being entered need to be available for commercial sale?

Yes, Entries must be 100% produced in Australia and commercially available for retail in the precise composition and in the same packaging, including labels, in which it is submitted for judging.

How many times can I enter a product in the Melbourne Royal Australian Food Awards?

Any individual product can only be entered once (per year) into the Awards. 

Do I need a food license or food certificate to enter?

Exhibitors must be accredited and supply proof of quality assurance certification and upload a food license document or food certificate before judging commences. Failure to upload certification may result in your entry being withdrawn.

This may include, but is not limited to the following:

  • Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) certification
  • Safe Quality Food (SQF) certification
  • ISO 22000 certification
  • Certification of Food Premises

For further information regarding compliance and certification in your local area, please refer to the FSANZ website.